This mausoleum was erected to house the remains for John Charles Robert Bingham (4th Baron Clanmorris) who died in 1876. His wife and brother were also buried here and all were removed in 1945 for reburial in Ardrahan. The cut-stone appearance and detailing are well executed and provide a contrast to the rubble stone walling of the medieval church in ruins.
This modestly sized Gothic Revival mausoleum was erected for the Miller family. The mausoleum boasts some outstanding vermiculated (wormcasts) stonework, a carved cross and stone flags to the roof. The mausoleum is part of an important group of religious structures, along with the churches and convents nearby.
This small and relatively modest structure was built to house the remains of Margaret Henry, wife of Mitchell Henry who built Kylemore Castle. Its simple design is enhanced by the unusual yellow brick walls with their well proportioned recesses and gable finial. The mausoleum also houses the cremated remains of Mitchell Henry who died in 1910.
This stone-built mausoleum is a simple structure which is difficult to date but the doorcase, with its large blocks of stone could be mid-eighteenth century. The inscription is a good example of folk art.
This is a simple mausoleum dating from the early nineteenth century and is one of a small number of such structures in North Galway. Its doorway is of well wrought limestone.
This highly unusual mausoleum, commissioned by Kathleen de Kindiard in 1897 to house the remains of her father, is in the form of a medieval towerhouse, and took four years to build. The architect was reportedly Francis Persse, younger brother of Lady Augusta Gregory, founder of the Abbey Theatre. When Kathleen died in 1938 she too was laid to rest in the crypt of the mausoleum. A stunning feature in the forest, the mausoleum is a unique and beautifully crafted structure.
This mausoleum is one of the largest in Ireland and was built by Frederick Trench, whose tomb lies in the circular tower. Restoration work has been carried out on the structure. The mausoleum is a unique structure and still in use as the burial ground of the Trench family.
This mausoleum, the last resting place of the local Blake Family, is well maintained. It exhibits interesting architectural features such as a canted bay, a symmetrical arrangement of openings and quality workmanship evident in tooled limestone surrounds. Of particular note are the large limestone slabs used to roof this building, examples of which are increasingly rare. This and the aforementioned detailing ensures architectural variety in the graveyard and the local landscape.
The family mausoleum of the Seymours, who acquired Ballymore Castle and its lands around 1700 and remained there until the early twentieth century. The cut and carved limestone shows both the skill of nineteenth-century craftsmen and the wealth and status of the Seymour family who commissioned the monument. Situated beside a graveyard in a small enclosure known as the ‘Lisheen’ which is thought to have been used for burials before the graveyard walls were constructed.
This unusual small structure is a noteworthy feature in Ballynacourty cemetery. Unfortunately the inscriptions on the west gable have worn away so it is unclear who was buried here. However, a tomb of this prominence would indicate a resting place for a person of high social status. The use of stone rather than slate for the roof, and the rectangular plan, is reminiscent of small early medieval oratories. The exact location is unknown but it is believed to be in the vicinity of the marker.
St. George Mausoleum
Incorporated into the ruins of Drumacoo Church, on the site of an early monastic settlement, this Gothic inspired mausoleum was built for the Lady Harriet St George by her husband Arthur F. St George, the occupants of Tyrone House and Kilcolgan Castle. The mausoleum is referred to by the English poet laureate Sir John Betjeman (1906-84) in his poem ‘Ireland with Emily’. ‘There in pinnacled protection, One extinguished family waits A Church of Ireland resurrection By the broken, rusty gates. Sheepswool, straw and droppings cover, Graves of spinster, rake and lover, Whose fantastic mausoleum, Sings its own seablown Te Deum, In and out the slipping slates’.
St. Francis’ Church Mausoleum
The carvings on this highly decorated mausoleum show evidence of highly skilled craftsmanship, with some interesting naíve passages depicting human faces, which may be inspired by medieval carvings. The inscriptions are not entirely legible, which make it difficult to date, but it was clearly dedicated to a high status individual. The carvings contain a number of references to the Resurrection, as well as a crucifix. It forms part of an interesting ecclesiastical group in Meelick that includes the church, other ruined friary buildings, medieval grave slabs, and many other grave markers to the graveyard.
Although simple in form, this mausoleum has been executed with considerable skill and craftsmanship and remains in good condition. Located within the grounds of Saint Theresa’s Church and graveyard, it is contextualised by the adjacent Castle Daly country house, as well as its location within the townland of the same name, testament to the social status and wealth of its occupants.
Denis & Charlotte Bowes Daly Mausoleum
This mausoleum was built for Denis and Charlotte Bowes Daly and is one of a pair of mausolea in the Dalystown burial ground. The neo-classical style of the monument is characteristic of the period and the site is a suitable monument to the family after whom Dalystown Demesne and Dalystown House are named. Clearly the work of highly skilled craftsmen, this monument is a distinctive feature in the graveyard.
This fine limestone memorial is a landmark on the road to the west of Barna village. It is unusual for combining various apparently disparate elements to form a rather complicated monument. The detailing of the box-tomb, the plaques and the topmost element ate all of artistic interest and the inscriptions contribute to local social history.
Coláiste Sheosamh Naofa Obelisk
This is a highly unusual and picturesque monument. The elliptical piercings through the shaft are most unusual, puncturing the conceit that it is monolithic. Obelisks were a popular feature of many large demesne landscapes. They were often built to commemorate events, or like this one, as ‘eye-catchers’ to create an interesting and romantic vista from the house. It is said locally that this was the spire of a nearby Church of Ireland church, removed to the demesne some years after its construction. However, the detailed inscription to the base makes no reference to this, stating ‘This spire finished in December 1811 was erected from a design presented gratuitously by J. T. Grove Esq. Architect of the British Post Office and Board of Works to Richard Earl of Clancarty’.
This truly remarkable and bizarre monument is unique in Ireland. Its manufacture, of cast iron, is highly accomplished, and it presents an array of good classical detailing. It may have been designed and built in Scotland.